Makinde, Bala Mohammed, others named in PDP Edo electoral committee

Oyo Governor Seyi Makinde

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has named Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, and Bauchi State Governor, Bala Mohammed, as part of a five-member committee for the party’s Edo governorship primary.

PDP National Organising Secretary, Austin Akobundu, made this known in a statement obtained on Monday.

Mohammed is to serve as chairman, while lawmaker representing Mangu/Bukkos Federal Constituency of Plateau State in the House of Representatives, Solomon Maren, was named as secretary.

Makinde serves as member alongside Zamfara State Governor, Bello Matawalle, and Senator Lilian Ekwunife.

“The committee is mandated to conduct the primary election that will elect our Party’s flagbearer in Edo State, for the upcoming 2020 Governorship election in the state,” the statement read.

“The exercise is scheduled for Thursday, June 25, 2020, in Benin City, Edo State.”