Adeleke sacks 12,000 workers, suspends OSIEC officials

Osun State Governor Ademola Adeleke

Osun State Governor Ademola Adeleke has sacked a total of 12,000 workers whose appointments were ratified while the previous administration was winding up.

The governor also dethroned three monarchs: Akinrun of Ikinrun Oba Yinusa Akadiri; Aree of Ire Oba Ademola Oluponle and Owa of Igbajo, Oba Gboyega Famodun.

A statement on Monday signed by his chief press secretary Olawale Rasheed said Adeleke signed the executive orders which covered chieftaincy matters, appointments issues, setting up of review panel, staff audit and employment matters.

The statement reads: “All employments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after July 17th, 2022 be and are hereby nullified.

“Executive Order number five on Chieftaincy Affairs and appointment of traditional rulers. All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July, 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies.

“In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are hereby put on hold pending review. Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.”

Adeleke’s predecessor Gboyega Oyetola had employed over 12,000 workers and appointed 30 permanent secretaries.

Another statement signed by the Secretary to Osun State Government Tesleem Igbalaye also announced the suspension of the chairman of Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC), Segun Oladitan, and its members.

Others are Yusuf Oyeniran, Suibat Adubi, Prince Yinka Ajiboye, Abosede Omibeku, Dosu Gidigbi, and Wahab Adewoyin.

The statement noted that the suspension was sequel to several petitions bordering on financial impropriety, dereliction of duty, absenteeism and abuse of office against the said chairman and members of the commission.