Victory for Tinubu, Amosun as men make ministerial list

Bola Tinubu

National leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, and former governor of Ogun State, Ibikunle Amosun, are some of the winners in the ministerial list sent to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The inclusion of a former media aide to Tinubu, Sunday Dare (from Oyo State), spells victory for the APC leader.

Mr Dare, a former senior editor with The News Group, was until his nomination an executive commissioner at the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC).

He had worked for the Voice of America (VOA) in Washington DC, United States. Dare was a pioneer staff of TheNEWS magazine from 1993 till 2001 when he left as general editor to join VOA.

Also, contrary to expectations, former governor of Lagos State, Akinwunmi Ambode, was exempted from the list after he fell out with Tinubu which cost him his bid for a second term.

The nominations of former Lagos State governor and immediate past minister of power, works and housing, Babatunde Fashola; and former senator Adeleke Mamora, a long-time member of the Action Congress (AC) before the emergence of APC, also spells victory for Tinubu.

Despite Amosun’s fallout with the APC leadership, his former commissioner for works and infrastructure, Olamilekan Adegbite, was included in the nomination list sent to the Senate.

Senator Amosun has been on suspension from the APC after supporting another party’s candidate in the 2019 Ogun governorship election which ultimately saw his anointed candidate, Adekunle Akinlade, lose to Dapo Abiodun of APC.