Two members resign from Nigeria Oscar selection committee

Chineze Anyaene Nigerian Oscar Selection Committee

Filmmaker Mildred Okwo and journalist Shaibu Husseini have resigned from the Nigerian Official Selection Committee (NOSC) for the Academy of Motion Pictures, Arts and Sciences (AMPAS).

The committee is responsible for submitting a Nigerian film in the International Feature Film (IFF) category of the Oscar.

Okwo announced her resignation from the Chineze Anyaene-led committee on Twitter on Thursday.

The producer of La Femme Anjola said she was moving on to serve the film industry in other ways.

Husseini announced his resignation on Sunday, saying he had informed Anyaene of his decision.

In a message posted on Twitter, the mass communication lecturer and culture critic wished other members of the committee well in their quest to serve the film industry.

The committee had in September announced that no Nigerian film was eligible to be submitted for the 2023 Oscars.

It is the second year in a row that Nigeria would not submit a film for the IFF category of the Oscars.

The last submission by the committee was The Milkmaid in 2020. learnt that the decision not to submit a film 2023 Oscars divided members of the committee.