Dayo Adeneye confirmed as Ogun commissioner

By Bisola Bello

Dayo Adeneye

The Ogun State House of Assembly has cleared media entrepreneur, Dayo Adeneye, and four other additional commissioner-nominees sent to the House by Governor Ibikunle Amosun.

The approval came after the Deputy Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo, presented the report of a seven-man ad-hoc committee on the screening of the nominees at the plenary in Abeokuta, the state capital.

Oluomo said the committee scrutinised the curriculum vitae of the nominees and found them worthy to be members of the State Executive Council.

He said: “It is, therefore, recommended that the request of the governor for confirmation of the nominees for the post of commissioners be consented to by this honourable House.”

The four other nominees are Adewale Osinowo, Babajide Odubanjo, Modupe Mujota and Adenrele Adesina.

The House had earlier confirmed 18 commissioner-nominees early October.

In a message he posted on Instagram on Friday afternoon, Adeneye revealed that the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly asked him to “take a bow and go”.

He responded to a congratulatory message from with the words “thank you very much” after the screening.

Adeneye contested for the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket to represent Odogbolu in the Ogun Assembly but lost at the party’s primaries.

He was thereafter appointed a member of Amosun’s campaign team and a member of the inauguration committee set up after the governor’s victory in the last general election for a second term in office.