Sokoto’s first female professor sworn-in as commissioner

Sokoto first female professor Professor Aishatu Madawaki being sworn-in as comissioner along with others

Governor Aminu Tambuwal has sworn-in Sokoto’s first female professor and three others as commissioners into the state executive council.

Professor Aishatu Madawaki, a professor of educational psychology at the Usmanu Danfodio University, was sworn-in along with Ahmed Barade Wamakko, Garba Yakubu Tsitse and Bello Isa Ambarura.

Similarly, the governor swore-in a former member of the House of Representatives, Hon Umar Bature and a former rector of the state polytechnic, Dr. Bello Rabiu Alkali as special advisers and Alhaji Bello Buba as the executive chairman of Wamakko Local Government Area.

Speaking at the swearing-in ceremony at Government House, Tambuwal tasked the new appointees to see their appointments as call to service.

“You were all selected based on merit and your track record in the service of Sokoto State. You are all experienced in your various fields of human endeavour and the state looks forward to getting positive contributions from you.

“Professor Aishatu has especially made left an imprint in the area of girl child education in Sokoto, and we expect her to use her wealth of experience to improve the education sector,” the governor added.

Tambuwal said government is desirous of affecting the lives of the people positively and will continue to explore various avenues to improve governance process in the state.

This is not Madasawaki’s first public appointment, having served in different capacities at federal and state levels.

She was commissioner for women affairs and social development, Sokoto State (1999-2003) and chairperson, Teachers Service Board, Sokoto State(2004-2007).

Other positions held include member, Presidential Technical Committee on Housing and Urban Development(2002-2004); member, Presidential Technical Board Federal Mortgage Bank, Abuja (2004-2007), and member, Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission, Abuja (2008-2012).

She is a Member of the Order of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (MFR).