Fayemi, Segun Oni, others vote as Ekiti elects new governor

Kayode Fayemi votes in Ekiti

Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi on Saturday cast his vote at polling unit 009, Isan ward, Oye Local Government Area in the ongoing governorship election in the state.

The outgoing governor praised the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) after voting.

He said, “INEC should be given a pass mark. My permanent voter card was still recognised and it is the PVC that I have been using since the beginning of this process. The process is seamless. Accreditation is now done alongside voting.”

Sixteen candidates are contesting the governorship election.

The frontline candidates, however, are Biodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

As of press time, the frontline candidates had all voted.

According to INEC, there are 988,923 registered voters across 16 local governments in the state.

The election will hold in 2,445 polling units in 177 registration areas, three senatorial districts, six federal constituencies and 26 state constituencies across the states.

As of June 13, a total of 749,065 permanent voter cards had been collected by registered voters in Ekiti.