EFCC arrests 16 Kwara LG chairmen over N4bn loan, IGR


The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has arrested 16 local government chairmen in Kwara State over alleged misappropriation of part of N4billion Loan and 10 per cent of internally generated revenue (IGR).

A statement released by the agency’s spokesman, Wilson Uwujaren, on Friday evening said those arrested were being quizzed at the EFCC zonal office in Ilorin.


Mr Uwujaren gave the names of those arrested as Risikat Opakunle, Saidu Yaru Musa, Umar Belle, Ayeni Dallas, Fatai Adeniyi Garba, Lah Abdulmumeen, Raliat Funmi Salau, Aminat Omodara and Muyiwa Oladipo.

Others are Oladipo Omole, Abdullahi Abubakar Bata, Saka Eleyele, Lateef Gbadamosi, Oni Adebayo Joseph,  Omokanye Joshua Olatunji and Jibril Salihu.


“It was gathered that the council chiefs after securing the controversial loan held a meeting and decided that one hundred million naira be shared among themselves.

“The suspects had on the 7th of February, 2018 wrote a four billion naira loan request to the Ilorin Branch Manager of Sterling Bank to pay the Salary Arrears of teachers under the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB),  Local Government Staff and Local Government Pensioners.


“The embattled politicians were also accused of diverting ten per cent of the monthly internally generated revenue for their personal use which was paid direct into their personal accounts against the Financial Regulations,” the statement reads.

It added that all the suspects have made useful statements while investigation continues.