Burna Boy, Wizkid, Davido, Tiwa Savage, others nominated for AFRIMA 2021

Burna Boy

Music stars Burna Boy, Wizkid, Davido and Tiwa Savage have received nominations for the 2021 All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) set to hold in November 2021 in Lagos.

A statement sent to Qed.ng on Wednesday, disclosed that over 8,880 songs were submitted for adjudication. It features over 400 songs from artists in the 30 continental and 10 regional categories cutting across African talents and creatives living on the continent and in the diaspora.

Leading the category (after South African duo Blaq Diamond) is Wizkid with six nominations including ‘African Artist of the Year’, ‘Best Male Artist in Western Africa’ and ‘Album of the Year’.

Burna Boy also received nominations for ‘Best Male Artist in Western Africa and ‘Album of the Year’.

Also on the list for ‘Best Album and Artist of the Year’ are Tiwa Savage, Olamide, Davido, Omah Lay and Yemi Alade.

Other Nigerian artists who made the nomination list are M.I Abaga, Flavour, Phyno, Patoranking, Vector, Adekunle Gold, Tems, Joe Boy, Bella Shmurda, Ladipoe, Fireboy, Teni and Niniola.

According to Angela Martins, head of culture African Union Commission (AUC) “The nominees list comprising 28 continental award categories and 10 regional award categories released for public voting on www.afrima.org is coming a few days after a rigorous long-week adjudication process. The remaining two categories – Legend award category will be announced at the awards, while Best Soundtrack in a movie/series/documentary film category was suspended due to low-quality entries for this year’s edition.”

AFRIMA in partnership with the African Union Commission (AUC) will be broadcast live on 84 television stations in 109 countries from Lagos, Nigeria from November 19 to 21, 2021. Since 2014, AFRIMA has been regarded as the ultimate recognition of African music globally.