Buhari names train stations after Tinubu, Soyinka, others

Muhammadu Buhari and Bola Tinubu

Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi says President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the naming of train stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after “deserving Nigerians”.

Presidential aide Tolu Ogunlesi stated this in a Twitter thread on Monday.

The Apapa station was named after a national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Bola Tinubu, while the Agege station was named after the Minister of Works and Housing Babatunde Fashola.

Others are Vice President Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station), the late Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station), Prof Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station) and Segun Osoba (Olodo station).

The list also includes Ladoke Akintola (Omio-Adio station), Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station), Alex Ekwueme (Operations Control Centre) among others.

Buhari had earlier in June approved the naming of the railway complex in Agbor – the operational hub of the Itakpe-Warri line – after former President Goodluck Jonathan.