INEC declares Yahaya Bello Kogi governor-elect

Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello
Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate, Yahaya Bello, as winner of the governorship election in Kogi State.

Vice-Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria, Prof. Ibrahim Umar, who is INEC’s returning officer for the election, announced this on Monday.


He said Bello polled a total of 406,222 votes to defeat his major rival, Musa Wada of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 189,704 votes to emerge second.

Natasha Akpoti of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) came third in the exercise with 9,482 votes.

Collation of results was suspended on Sunday following delay from Ibaji and Lokoja local governments.

Bello’s victory in the election held on Saturday now guarantees him a second term in office.

PDP and Wada at a press briefing on Sunday rejected the result, describing it as a ruse that would be challenged at the tribunal.


The party alleged widespread violations of the Electoral Act.

It also refused to sign the final copy of the result to show its disapproval.