Official: Buhari wins in Kwara – INEC


President Muhammadu Buhari has won the presidential election conducted
on Saturday in Kwara State.

The results for Kwara were announced on Monday by the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu.

Buhari polled 308, 984 votes to defeat Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 138,184 votes.

Total registered voters stood at 1,401,895. Accredited voters were 489, 482. Total valid votes were 459, 676 while rejected votes were 26,578.

Buhari emerged victorious in Kwara despite the Director General of the Atiku Presidential Campaign Organisation, Bukola Saraki, being an indigene of the state.

Mr Saraki had earlier lost his Kwara Central senatorial seat to the candidate of the APC, Ibrahim Oloriegbe.