Super Falcons beat Senegal to qualify for Nations Cup

Nigeria’s Super Falcons defeated Senegal 2-0 on Tuesday at the Abuja National Stadium to qualify for the 12th edition of the Africa Women Cup of Nations.

The defending champions, who were forced to a 1-1 draw on Friday in Dakar, produced a classy performance in front of their home fans to book a place in the biennial tourney.

Rita Chikwelu and Osarenoma Igbinovia scored 10 minutes apart as Florence Omagbemi earned her first victory since temporarily taking charge of the Nigerian ladies.

Injured Desire Oparanozie made way for Chioma Wogu, while Asisat Oshoala, Ebere Orji and Francesca Ordega led the line for the nine-time champions.

As expected, the Falcons started the brighter of the two sides, with the front three mounting pressure on the Terenga Lioness’ defence.

The first clear chance of the game came to Omagbemi’s side in the 18th minute when Oshoala’s fine pass found Ebere who failed to make it count.

After a series of fine attacking moves, the Falcons forced their visitors into committing a foul in the box with the referee wasting no time to point to the spot for a penalty kick.

Arsenal hotshot, Oshoala, however failed to convert the ensuing spot kick with her effort hitting the woodwork while Orji was unable to direct the rebound on goal.

The Nigerians finally made their possession count with a beautiful goal from Chikwelu 10 minutes before the interval.

Oshoala once again showed why she’s one of the best in the game when she breezed past two opposing defenders before shooting wide.

Nigeria made it two through Igbinovia one minute after the restart. The unstoppable Oshoala found space in the box before finding the Falcons no 4 who gladly slotted it goal wards.

Omagbemi’s side held on for a comfortable victory at the end – while her opposing number was sent off to the stands for interrupting play.

The Super Falcons will be joined by host Cameroon and six other countries when the tournament begins in November.

Aside 2008 and 2012, the Nigerian ladies have won all other editions.