Sanwo-Olu, NNPC’s Kyari, others win Zik leadership awards

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has won the 2020 Zik Prize for Good Governance.

Chairman, selection committee, board of Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre Prof. Pat Utomi announced this on Thursday at a press conference in Lagos.

Managing director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Mele Kyari emerged winner in public service and professional leadership.

President of the African Development Bank and former minister of agriculture in Nigeria Akinwunmi Adesina won the 2020 Zik Leadership Prize for Public Service.

Others awarded were the minister of state for health, Senator Olorunimbe Mamora; Nasarawa State Governor, Abdullahi Sule; former secretary to the government of the federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim; and wife of minister of Niger Delta affairs Ekaette Akpabio.

Others were the chief executive officer, Nigerian Maritime and Safety Agency, Bashir Jamoh; managing director, Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority, Uche Orji; and the director of FBN Holdings Plc, Urum Eke.

“I am delighted to inform you that since 1995 when the Zik Prize in Leadership Award scheme started, it has held consistently annually and has now evolved to become one of Africa’s most respected award schemes. We must give credit to board members over these years that have shown uncommon zeal and commitment to building and encouraging true leadership across the face of the continent,” said Utomi.

He added that leadership values should be nurtured in Nigeria and also across the continent.