Sanwo-Olu drops five names in new commissioner-nominees’ list

Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has dropped five names in the new list of commissioners-nominees sent by to the House of Assembly.

The affected nominees are Folashade Adefisayo (education), Solape Hammond (SDG), Aramide Adeyoye (works and infrastructure), Lekan Fatodu, and Rotimi Ogunwuyi.

They were replaced with six new names – Afolabi Tajudeen, Akinyemi Ajigbotafe, Tolani Sule-Akibu, Yekini Agbaje, Iyabode Ayoola, and Sola Giwa.

The governor stated this in his letter to the House of Assembly after it rejected 17 nominees. Mr Sanwo-Olu later held a meeting with Speaker Mudashiru Obasa and Lagos APC leaders.

The governor’s letter reads: “After careful consideration of the 17 names that were rejected, I have decided to represent a list of nominees which includes a balanced selection of previously presented and new individuals. This list represents a broad political spectrum and diverse backgrounds reflective of the rich diversity of our lovely state. I am confident these new nominees would bring fresh ideas that would help the growth and progress of Lagos.”


Sanwo-Olu pays surprise visit to boy with alleged missing intestines at LASUTH

Lagos Assembly rejects Akin Abayomi, Gbenga Omotosho, 15 other commissioner-nominees

Other names on the list are former commissioners Gbenga Omotoso (information and strategy); Prof. Akin Abayomi (health); Olalere Odusote (energy); Cecila Dada (women affairs and poverty alleviation); Sam Egube (economic planning and budget); as well as Folashade Ambrose-Medem, Yomi Olorunyomi, Rotimi Fashola, Mosopefolu George, Oluwaseun Osiyemi, Barakat Bakare, and Olumide Oluyinka.

During plenary on Monday, Obasa directed the screening committee led by the Chief Whip, Fatai Mojeed, to reconvene and start screening the nominees on Tuesday, September 5.

The committee is to report back to the House on Thursday.