Ribadu withdraws from Adamawa governorship race

RibaduPioneer Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFFC), Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, and seven others have withdrawn from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Adamawa governorship bye-election primary holding on Saturday.

Others who have pulled out are Aliyu Idi Hong, Markus Gundiri, Abubakar Girei, Awwal Tukur, James Barka, Andrawus Sawa and Aliyu Kama.

Senate President David Mark, alongside PDP National Working Committee (NWC) on Thursday night met with the aspirants at the Banquet Hall, State House, Abuja.

It was at that meeting that a decision to reduce the number of aspirants was reached.

With this withdrawal, those still in the race are former Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC) Executive Secretary, Ahmed Modibbo; former Military Administrator of Lagos State, Gen. Buba Marwa (rtd), and ex-Presidential Adviser, Ahmed Gulak.

Others are Acting Governor Umar Fintiri, Jerry Kundisi and Umar Ardo.

It was also gathered that the meeting agreed that those who will be contesting the primary will not participate in the 2015 contest.

The winner of the governorship bye-election is expected to complete the term of the impeached Governor Murtala Nyako, which ends on May 29, 2015.

The meeting also agreed that only those who agreed to step down now can contest for the party’s governorship election ticket in 2015, with more consideration in 2015 for Adamawa Central that has never produced a governor.

It was also agreed that any aspirant who fails to win the party’s ticket in Saturday’s primary election must support the party’s flag-bearer towards the October 11 election.