Nigeria dominates Channel O Africa Music Video Awards nominees

DavidoAward–winning Nigerian musician, David Adeleke, aka Davido, leads the way with five nominations for the Channel O Africa Music Video Awards 2014.

He is followed by compatriots Tiwa Savage, 2face, Seyi Shay, KCee, P-Square, Orezi, Jesse Jagz, Flavour, Patoranking, Iyanya, Niyola, Burna Boy, Phyno, May-D and Dr Sid.

South Africa-based Nigerian artist, Emmy Gee, also received two nominations.

Nigeria has a total of 28 nominations in all.

The award is divided into 14 categories, including Most Gifted Male, Most Gifted Female, Most Gifted Newcomer, Most Gifted Duo, Group or Featuring and Most Gifted Dance.

Others are Most Gifted Ragga Dancehall, Most Gifted R&B, Most Gifted Afro Pop, Most Gifted Hip Hop, Most Gifted West and Most Gifted Video of The Year.

Davido was nominated for `Most Gifted Male Video’, `Most Gifted Afro Pop Video’, `Most Gifted West Video’ and `Most Gifted Video of the Year`, all for his song ‘Aye’, while ‘Skelewu’ was nominated for ‘Most Gifted Dance Video’.

Tiwa Savage and Seyi Shay were nominated for the Most Gifted Female, while Tiwa also got nominated for Most Gifted Video of the Year.

Patoranking was nominated for ‘Most Gifted Newcomer’ and Most Gifted Ragga Dancehall, while Emmy Gee also got nominated for ‘Most Gifted Newcomer and ‘Most Gifted Video of the Year’.

Nominations for ‘Most Gifted Duo, Group or Featuring’ went to KCee and Wizkid, while P-Square also got a nomination for ‘Most Gifted Dance’.

Orezi, Jesse Jagz and Wizkid got nominations for ‘Most Gifted Ragga Dancehall, while Flavour, Iyanya and May-D received nominations for the ‘Most Gifted Afro Pop’.

2face and Niyola were nominated for ‘Most Gifted R and B’; Phyno got nominated for ‘Most Gifted Hip Hop’, while Wizkid, Burna Boy, D’Banj, Olamide, Dr Sid and Don Jazzy got nominations for ‘Most Gifted West’.

Burna Boy, Dr Sid and Don Jazzy also got nominated for ‘Most Gifted Video of The Year’.

This year’s awards would be held on Nov. 29, at the Nasrec Expo Centre, Soweto, South Africa.

The Channel O Africa Music Video Awards, which was previously known as Spirit of Africa Music Video Awards, are Pan-African music awards organised by South Africa-based Channel O television channel.

The awards were first held in 2003 under the name Reel Music Video Awards.

Since 2005 the awards have been held annually.

The winners are voted by Channel O’s viewers across the continent.