Osinbajo congratulates Edwin Clark at 90

Edwin Clark

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo On Wednesday warmly felicitated with former Federal Commissioner of Information, Chief Edwin Clark, who clocks 90 on Thursday.

The Ijaw leader was born on May 25, 1932 in Eriawvarien in the present Ughelli South Local Government Area of Delta State.

A statement from the Presidency said “Professor Osinbajo joins family members, friends, colleagues and the entire Ijaw nation in commemorating the milestone in the life of the nationalist, whose life reflects our collective and continuous efforts towards building a great nation.”

Osinbajo, the statement added, “commends Clark’s unwavering patriotism and relentless pursuit of the unity of the country, particularly his maturity in speaking for the good of all Nigerians, promoting the South-South quest for a new developmental vision and supporting the cause of the poor and vulnerable.”

“The Acting President extols the personal sacrifices and diplomatic shuttles of the great Nigerian leader, who worked relentlessly for the birth and sustenance of ECOWAS.

“He assures the nonagenarian that his labour of love for the South-South and the progress of the country will be remembered by many generations to come.

“He prays that the almighty God will grant the elder statesman longer life, good health and that as his days are so shall his wisdom, strength and favour be.”

Former President Goodluck Jonathan, Governors Ifeanyi Okowa and Seriake Dickson of Delta and Bayesla states respectively have also paid tributes to Edwin Clark at 90.

Clark has held various local regional and national positions, including commissioner for education, finance and establishment; federal minister for information and national orientation, and senator among others.

He is an alumnus at the Holbom College of Law, London, who was later called to the bar in England as a member of the Honorable Society of the Inner Temple and as solicitor and advocate of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.

The Ijaw leader announced his retirement from politics in October 2015.