NUC approves university in Oshiomhole’s country home

Adams Oshiomhole

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has approved the Edo University, Iyamho as the 41st state university and 142nd university in Nigeria.

Iyamoh is the country home of Edo State Governor, Adams Oshiomhole.

Executive Secretary of NUC, Prof Julius Okojie  in a letter to Oshiomhole, dated March 23, 2016, said: “Consequent upon the formal presentation of the relevant gazetted law, Academic Brief and Physical Master Plan and satisfactory report from the Advisory resource assessment visit, I write on behalf of the National Universities Commission (NUC), to inform His Excellency, that with effect from Wednesday, 23rd March, 2016, Edo University, Iyamho, has been recognised as the 41st State University and 142nd University, in the Nigerian University System.

“We hereby pledge our support to the University and urge His Excellency and Edo State Government, to take full advantage of the professional and technical advice that we are statutorily required to give to State Governments, on the establishment and operation of their universities.

“By a copy of this letter, the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board, Tertiary Education Trust Fund and the National Youth Service Corps, have been informed of the establishment of the new University.

“I wish to congratulate His Excellency and the good people of Edo State, on the establishment of Edo University, Iyamho.”

With the new development, there are now two state-owned universities in Edo. The other is the Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma.

The Federal Government-owned University of Benin is also located in the state.