Nigerian Oscar committee seeks entries for feature film

Chineze Anyaene chairman Nigerian Oscars selection committee

The Nigerian Oscar Selection Committee has called on Nollywood filmmakers to make entries for feature film category for the 93rd Academy Awards (Oscars).

The committee’s chairperson Chineze Anyaene said in a statement on Thursday that the Academy Awards recently opened entries to honour the best new films released globally, with the event set to hold on April 25, 2021.

Anyaene noted that the country’s first submission in 2019 – Genevieve Nnaji’s Lionheart which was later disqualified – represented a pivotal moment for the industry.

She said the committee had witnessed a rapid rise in the quality of Nigerian films, especially in storytelling, with many filmmakers and industry practitioners aspiring for better creative and business opportunities.

“The submission has opened a new dimension for the industry and this would also attract more investors. We were able to make our first-ever entry submission to the Oscars for the International Feature Film Awards category as a country, and the awareness this has brought to the industry as a whole has been amazing.

“It has opened the industry to other markets, and we hope to see partnerships with other industries soon,” she said.

On the new rules for award participation, Anyaene said “due to guidelines and government-mandated rules to manage Coronavirus spread, filmmakers had to provide to the Academy documentation, original documents and an English translation of government-mandated theatre/cinema closure dates.

“Also, previously planned theatrical release and streaming distribution or video on demand agreements.”

Anyaene said eligible films had to be made available on the secure Academy Screening Room member site within 60 days of the film official selection.

“More information on special rules for the award can be found on

“Submission is set to close Oct. 2, 2020; filmmakers can submit their entries to NOSC by visiting https://, for technical submission details and further enquiries, please email,” she said.

Members of the 93rd Nigerian Oscar Selection Committee include Anyaene (chairperson), Mahmood Ali-Balogun (vice-chairperson), Adetokunbo Odubawo, Bruce Ayonote, Charles Novia, Ego Boyo, Mildred Okwo, Moses Babatope, Omoni Oboli, Shuaibu Husseini, Victor Okhai and Yibo Koko.