Lobi stars crowned Nigerian League champions

Reports emanating from the League Management Company (LMC) is that Lobi Stars will be crowned Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) champions for 2017/18 season.

The Nigerian league had been on break since the World Cup and effort to resume has proven abortive.

For this reason, the LMC and club owners reportedly met behind closed doors on Thursday night to forge a course.

It is alleged that 16 out of the 20 clubs voted to end the league with 14 games still to play.

Lobi, who led the standings with 43 points, would be handed the title.

Akwa United, Kano Pillars and Enyimba would join the Makurdi-based side on the continent.

No team will be relegated this season with four promoted from the lower league – meaning the top flight would have 24 sides next term.

Six will move a to lower tier while two would climb next season.

The 2018/19 campaign will run from November to May.

The LMC or NFF are yet to offer an official statement.