LG poll: Oba Animashaun’s daughter wins Epe, incumbents take Agege, Badagry

Oloja of Epe Oba Kamorudeen Animashaun

Surah Animashaun of the All Progressives Congress (APC), daughter of Oba Kamorudeen Animashaun of Epeland, was on Saturday declared winner of the chairmanship election in Epe Local Government.

The returning officer, Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission(LASIEC) Shamsideen Ladega announced that she scored 11,232 votes to floor the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate who scored 896 votes.

“Having complied with the requirement of the law and scored the majority votes, Surah Animashaun is hereby decleared elected and returned as Chairmof Epe Local Government,” he said.

Also, Ganiyu Egunjobi, the executive chairman, Agege Local Government, was re-elected with 6,226 votes.

Egunjobi, APC’s candidate, defeated Olusola Osolana of the PDP, who got 4,114 votes.

LASIEC returning officer Salami Ojo said, “Egunjobi of APC in the Chairmanship election of Agege local government, having complied with the requirements of law and scored the majority number of votes, is hereby elected and returned.”

Other candidates who participated in the elections included Oyekan Olutobi of ADP, 47 votes, Esther Kosenimola, AA, 64 votes, YPP scored 23 votes.

In Agboyi-Ketu Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs), Dele Oshinowo of APC was declared winner of Saturday’s local government election.

LASIEC local government collation and returning officer for the election Omoniyi Odufuwa declared the result at the collation centre situated at Agboyi-Ketu LCDA Secretariat at 11 p.m. on Saturday.

Declaring the winner, Mrs Odufuwa said: “I, Odufuwa Omoniyi Adebukola, hereby declare Oladele Oshinowo of APC, the winner of the chairmanship election of Agboyi-Ketu LCDA having complied with the requirements of the law and scored the majority number of votes.

“The aforementioned is hereby elected and returned.”

According to her, the APC candidate, Oshinowo, polled 26,771 votes to beat his closest rival, Oluwole Dahunsi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who got votes, 2,749 votes.

She said that Wasiu Ogunwale of Labour Party (LP) scored 79 votes.

APC candidates swept all the seven councillorship seats in the LCDA during the polls.

The APC also clinched Badagry Local Government chairmanship seat.

Declaring the result, the returning officer for Badagry Edward Odukomaiya said the incumbent Olusegun Onilude won with 8,015 to defeat his opponent, Monday Honfovu of the PDP, who scored 2,118 votes.

“Olusegun Onilude of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of law and having scoring the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected having polled 8,015 votes,” he said.

Odukomaiya also announced that all the 10 councillorship seats were won by the APC.

Also, the APC won the chairmanship election in Ikorodu Local Government.

LASIEC returning officer Olumide Metilelu said the candidate of PDP Hassan Rafiu had a total of 1,497 votes while Wasiu Adesina of APC had 4,729 votes.