IGP redeploys 19 AIGs, 49 CPs

Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase
Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase
Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase

The Inspector-General of Police, Solomon Arase, has approved the redeployment of 19 Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs) and 49 Commissioners of Police.

This is contained in a statement issued by the Deputy Force Public Relations Officer, CSP Abayomi Shogunle on Friday in Abuja.

Among those redeployed are AIG Joseph Mbu, who was posted as Commandant, Police Staff College, Jos; Adenrele Shinaba, as Commandant, Nigeria Police Academy, Kano; and Patrick Dokumor, AIG Force Headquarters, Abuja.

The posting also affected all the 12 zonal commands of the police.

The affected officers include: Tambari Mohammed, AIG zone 1 Kano; Bala Hassan, AIG zone 2 Lagos; Mohammed Abubakar, AIG zone 3 Yola; and Yahaya Ardo, AIG zone 4 Makurdi.

Others are, Musa Daura, AIG zone 5 Benin; Adisa Bolanta, AIG zone 6 Calabar; Ballah Nasarawa, AIG zone 7, Abuja; Lawal Tanko, AIG zone 8 Lokoja; Usman Gwary, AIG zone 9, Umuahia; Mohammed Gana, AIG zone 10 Sokoto; Helen Adeyemi, AIG zone 11 Osogbo and Johnson Ogunsakin, AIG zone 12, Bauchi were also moved.

Also redeployed are Edgar Nanakumo, AIG Works, Force Headquarters, Abuja; Yerima Irimiya, AIG Maritime Police; Olufemi Adenaike, AIG Training and Development; James Caulcrick, 2i/C Force Criminal Intelligence and Investigations Department, Abuja.

Former police spokesman, Emmanuel Ojukwu, was redeployed to Kogi as police commissioner.

The statement said the vacancies were created following the recent retirement and promotions of some senior police officers.