Ebi, Oparanozie, Ordega battle Oshoala for CAF award

Super Falcons trio of Onome Ebi, Francisca Ordega and Desire Oparanozie are aiming to dethrone Asisat Oshoala as the 2018 African Women’s Footballer of the Year.
This was after the Nigerian quartet was shortlisted for the most coveted individual honour on the continent.
Reigning African Footballer of the Year, Oshoala faces stiff competition from 11 other women as she bids to claim her fourth African crown in the last five years.
The Falcons’ forward was impressive in 2018, helping Dallian Quanjian to their second league title in China as well hitting three goals that took Nigeria to the final of the ongoing Africa Women’s Cup of Nation in Ghana.
Ordega on her part was relatively impressive for both club and country, whilst Oparanozie and Onome Ebi also helped the Falcons qualify for the Women’s World Cup in France next year.
They will face stiff competition from South Africa’s Christinah Thembi Kgatlana who has been a revelation at the ongoing AWCON whilst Cameroon’s Gabriella Aboudi Onguene is another contender.
Similarly, Falcons’ coach, Thomas Dennerby, was also nominated for the Coach of the Year, whilst the Falcons have also been nominated for the Team of the Year in the women’s category.