89 plays compete for $100,000 NLNG Literature Prize

Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, Chairman Advisory Board of The Nigeria Prize for Literature, hands-over 89 entries to the Chairman, Panel of Judges, Professor Matthew Umukoro yesterday in Lagos for 2018 edition of the prize as Godson Dienye, Acting Manager, Community Relations at Nigeria LNG and other judges, Dr. (Mrs.) Ngozi Udengwu and Professor Mohammed Inuwa Umar-Buratai, look on.

Eighty-nine entries will compete for the 2018 edition of the Nigeria LNG Limited-sponsored Nigeria Prize for Literature focused on drama, the company revealed on Wednesday at a formal ceremony in Lagos to hand-over the entries to the advisory board of the prize.

The hand-over of the entries to the board, chaired by Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, signifies the beginning of the judging process which will culminate in the announcement of the winner in October

Handing over the entries, NLNG’s deputy managing director, Sadeeq Mai-Bornu, represented by acting manager, community relations, Godson Dienye, said stakeholders need to rally around the prize to make sure it is sustainable and takes its rightful place in the rank of literary prizes in the world.

“We have received 89 entries this year; lower than what we had in 2014 when drama was also in focus. We must change this trend. All stakeholders must begin to own the prize as theirs and push it to greater heights.  We also received two entries for the Literary Criticism Award competition which unfortunately appears not to attract many entries. I consider this as a huge gap in Nigeria’s literacy space.

“To the judges, I urge you to demonstrate your usual proficiency in administering and adjudicating the process, knowing that the world is earnestly waiting for your announcement of another legendary work,” he remarked.

The entries will be examined on their merits of excellence in language, creativity and book quality.

They were immediately handed over to the panel of judges led by Professor Matthew Umukoro, a theatre arts teacher at the University of Ibadan.

Other members include Professor Mohammed Inuwa Buratai, a professor of theatre and performing arts and the dean of the Faculty of Arts at the Ahmadu Bello University, (ABU), Zaria; and Dr. Mrs Ngozi Udengwu, a senior lecturer in the Department of Theatre and Film Studies at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

This year’s award will run concurrently with NLNG’s Prize for Literary Criticism for which only two entries were received for this year’s competition.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature, one of Nigeria LNG Limited’s numerous contributions towards building a better Nigeria, is Africa’s most prestigious literary award with a cash reward of $100,000.

It rotates yearly amongst four literary categories of prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature.