11 books longlisted for 2022 NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature

NLNG Prize for Literature 2020 longlist

Eleven books have been longlisted for the 2022 Nigeria Prize for Literature sponsored by the Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG).

Chairperson of the advisory board for the prize Prof Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo announced the longlist on Friday.

This year’s prize focuses on poetry.

The 11 books longlisted include Augusta’s Poodle by Ogaga Ifowodo, Coming Undone as Stitches Tighten by IquoDiana Abasi, Dispossessed by James Eze, Ife Testament by Segun Adekoya and Memory and the Call of Water by Su’eddie Vershima Agema.

The others are Nomad by Romeo Oriogun, The Lilt of the Rebel by Obari Gomba, The Love Canticles by Chijioke Amu Nnadi, Wanderer Cantos by Remi Raji, Yawns and Belches by Joe Ushie and Your Crib, My Qibla by Saddiq Dzukogi.

A shortlist of three is expected in September and a winner announced in October.

The 2021 prize which focused on prose was won by Cheluchi Onyemelukwe-Onuobia for her book The Son of the House.

Other past winners of the prestigious prize are  Ahmed Yerima (2006), Kaine Agary (2008), Esiaba Irobi (2010), Adeleke Adeyemi (2011), Chika Unigwe (2012), Tade Ipadeola (2013), Sam Ukala (2014), Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (2016), Ikeogu Oke (2017), Soji Cole (2018) and Jude Idada (2019).

Gabriel Okara and Ezenwa Ohaeto shared the prize in 2005 while Mabel Segun and Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo shared that of 2007.

There were no winners in 2004, 2009 and 2015.

With a total prize value of US$100,000 for the winner, the Nigeria Prize for Literature is the biggest literary award in Africa and one of the richest literary awards in the world.