Tokunbo Abiru wins Lagos East senatorial bye-election

Polaris Bank CEO Tokunbo Abiru

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared candidate of the All Progressives Congress Tokunbo Abiru winner of the Lagos East senatorial bye-election.

INEC returning officer for the bye-election Prof. Ademola Oremosu of the University of Lagos said Abiru obtained a total of 89,204 votes to defeat his closest opponent Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party who polled 11,257 votes to emerge second.

The election was conducted on Saturday.

Abiru won in all the five local government areas in the senatorial district.

According to Oremosu, out of the total registered voters of 1,261,673 in the district, the total accredited voters was 104, 894, the total vote cast was 104, 405, the total valid votes was 102, 336, while the rejected votes were 2,069.

Oremosu said, “I, Prof. Oremosu Ademola, certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2020 Lagos East Senatorial by-election held on the 5th day of December Year 2020. The election was contested.

“That Abiru Mukhail Adetokunbo of All Progressives Congress, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”

Candidates from 12 political parties contested in the Lagos East Senatorial bye-elections while eight candidates contested the Kosofe Constituency II, Lagos State House of Assembly by-elections.

According to him, Muyiwa Adebanjo of Action Alliance got a total of 96 votes, Mercy Adeoye of African Action Congress scored 248 votes, while John Kome of African Democratic Congress polled 376 votes.

He said that Adebowale Ogunlaru of Action Democratic Party polled 535 votes, Olusola Babatope of Allied Peoples Movement scored 202 votes, Florence Trautman of Labour Party got 58 votes, while Adijat Lawal of New Nigeria Peoples Party polled 52 votes.

Oremosu said Akin Olukunle of National Rescue Movement got 65 votes, Saheed Aluko of Social Democratic Party scored 35 votes, while Taiwo Temitope of Young Progressive Party scored 208 votes.

The two bye-elections became necessary following the demise of the former occupants who were members of APC.

See results in the five LGAs:


APC: 17,728

PDP: 2,067


APC: 22,213

PDP: 1,826

Ibeju Lekki

APC: 16,336

PDP: 937


APC: 19,204

PDP: 3,766


APC: 13,723

PDP: 2,661