Seriake Dickson re-elected Bayelsa governor

Bayesla State Governor, Seriake Dickson

Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Seriake Dickson, has been re-elected for a second term as governor of Bayelsa State.

The results of all the local governments announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday show that Dickson scored a total of 133,020 votes to beat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Timipre Sylva, who scored 86,395 votes.

A substantive election held on December 5, 2015 was declared inconclusive after INEC cancelled the poll in Southern Ijaw Local Government Area following reports of widespread electoral malpractices and violence.

INEC subsequently fixed January 9, 2016 for a supplementary election in the affected local government and some polling units in other local governments where election did not hold on.

Sylva was governor of Bayelsa from May 27, 2008 to January 27, 2012.

Dickson has been governor since February 14, 2012.