Rangers clinch Nigeria League title after 32 years

Enugu Rangers have won the 2015/16 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) title following a well deserved 4-0 victory over El-Kanemi Warriors on Sunday.

The Flying Antelopes thus ended their 32-year wait for domestic success thereby equalling seven record league titles held by Enyimba who they dethrone to the accolade.

Rangers were almost certain to clinch the league after their remarkable run this season in which they only lost nine times – scoring a record 53 goals.

The Enugu-based side only needed a point from their final league game at home after they achieved an unbelievable 2-1 victory on the road against Ikorodu United last week.

Playing at the Cathedral in front of trophy-thirsty fans, the Flying Antelopes surely didn’t disappoint as they cruised to a resounding win.

Chisom Egbuchulam scored a hat-trick for Imama Amapakabo’s side to end the season with 63 points, giving Rangers the title since winning the Old First Division in 1984.

It was however a disappointing day for Rivers United whose hard-fought 2-1 win at Akwa United wasn’t enough to earn them the title.

The Port Harcourt-based side will take some consolation from their performance this season with a CAF Champions League ticket after almost being relegated the season before.

Wikki Tourists finished third after a 2-0 win over Sunshine Stars with the goals coming from Chukwudi Samuel and Mubarak Umar to ensure a place in next year’s CAF Confederation Cup.

In other games, Mountain of Fire Ministries FC (MFM FC) defeated FC IfeanyiUbah 1-0 to retain their Premier League status while the Millionaires misses out on a continental ticket.

Giwa FC, Ikorodu, Warri Wolves and Heartland will ply their trade in the second tier next season after suffering relegation.

NPFL Matchday 38 results

Wolves 1-0 Ikorodu

Wikki 2-0 Sunshine

Abia Warriors 2-1 3SC

Akwa 1-2 Rivers United

Lobi 2-0 Nasarawa

MFM 1-0 IfeanyiUbah

Pillars 1-1 Tornadoes

Rangers 4-0 El-Kanemi

Plateau 1-0 Heartland