Police promote Joseph Mbu, 18 others AIG

joseph mbuThe Police Service Commission (PSC) on Wednesday announced the promotion of 19 Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police.

The announcement comes less than 24 hours after the PSC promoted six AIGs and two CPs to the rank of Deputy Inspectors-General of Police.

The Assistant Director of Press and Public Relations of the PSC, Ferdinand U. Ekpe, gave the names of the lucky officers as Ambrose O. Aisibor, Adebayo Ajileye, Umaru Abubakar Manko, Joel Kayode Theophilus, Wilfred Eje Obute, Felix Osita Uyanna, A. J. Abakasanga, Jubril Olawale Adeniji, Ibrahim M. Maishanu, Godfrey E. Okeke, Chintua Amajor-Onu, Lawal Tanko, Usman Akila Gwarry, Kalafite Helen Adeyemi, Yahaya Garba Ardo, Irimiya F. Yerima, Olufemi A. Adenaike, Mbu Joseph Mbu and Patrick Dey Dokumor.

Ekpe said that all the appointments are with immediate effect.

Ekpe said: “The promotions became necessary to fill the vacancies created by recent retirements/promotions in Force and to re-invigorate and reposition Zonal and other Commands headed by AIGS, to help tackle the country’s current security challenges”

Ekpe revealed that the Chairman of the Commission, Sir Mike Mbama Okiro, urged the newly promoted officers to brace up to the responsibilities of their new office.

Okiro said the Commission was working assiduously towards formulating and implementing policies aimed at enhancing discipline and productivity in the Nigeria Police Force.