PDP senators stage walkout as Senate confirms Amaechi minister

Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi

The Senate on Thursday confirmed former Governor of Rivers State, Chibuike Amaechi, as minister, despite protest by senators of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

It rejected the report of the Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions, which considered the petition against Amaechi by a group known as the Integrity Group.

The confirmation was done by senators of the All Progressives Congress (APC) alone as their PDP counterparts walked out in protest shortly before Amaechi’s confirmation was announced.

Seventeen other ministerial nominees were also confirmed.

They are Adebayo Shittu, Kadjiat Abba Ibrahim, Heineken Lokpobiri, Claidius Omoyele Daramola, Baba Shehuri Mustapha, James Ocholi, Isaac Folorunsho Adewole, Bawa Bwari, Geoffrey Onyeama and Zainab Ahmed.

Others are Masur Mohammed Danladi, Usani Uguru, Okechukwu Elemanah, Anthony Anwuka, Mohammed Musa Bello, Adamu Adamu and Aisha Abubakar.

The Senate had earlier dissolved into a closed-door session to discuss the issue of confirmation of the ministers.