Oyetola reverses Aregbesola’s change-of-name policy for Osun schools

Gboyega Oyetola Osun

Osun State Governor Gboyega Oyetola has directed principals and heads of public elementary schools to revert to the old names of their various schools before the reclassification effected by the administration of ex-governor Rauf Aregbesola in 2013.

A circular dated August 27 and signed by Taiwo Adeagbo for the coordinating director, State Ministry of Education contained the directive.

The circular recalled approval given to the recommendations of the policy review roundtable summit on some extant policies in the education sector held in February and directed the affected officials to immediately comply with the directive.

The circular read in part: “Recall that at the policy review roundtable summit on some extant policies in Education Sector held between 20 and 21 of February 2020, His Excellency, Mr. Adegboyega Oyetola approved that Schools should revert to their pre-reclassification names and nomenclatures.

“Sequel to the above, all schools are hereby directed to revert to their old names with immediate effect as approved by the Osun State Government.”

September 21 has been fixed as the tentative date for Osun schools to resume for the abridged third term.