Omotola, Genevieve, Asa, others join #StopEbola campaign

OmotolaThe Future Awards Africa (TFAA) on Tuesday announced the leading influencers for its global campaign to pool 1 million young Africans to act against Ebola in Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea.

Leading the #StopEbola campaign, according to a statement by Red Media, will be TFAA Young Person of the Year 2013, Ashish Thakkar, along with actresses, Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, and Paris-based Nigerian musician, Asa.

The #StopEbola campaign hopes to get young Africans to support the World Health Organization (WHO) by donating social media updates and a minimum of $25 between now and the awards date. The funds go directly to the United Nations Ebola Response Fund. The Future Awards Africa holds on Sunday, 7 December 2014 at the Intercontinental Hotels in Lagos, Nigeria.

“Ebola has been defeated in Nigeria,” said Nnaji who has actively supported causes including the Pink Ball against cancer. “This shows that with the will and resources it can be defeated anywhere else. We need to get involved beyond talk and beyond sympathy. As long as it remains anywhere in Africa, we are all at risk, and we can come together to stop this from happening.”

“This goes to the core of what is important to me, and what should be important to all of us who are very concerned about our continent,” said Jalade-Ekeinde, who has been spokesperson for Amnesty International and the United Nations. “Just when the world has begun to pay attention to Africa as a destination for rapid growth and investment, we cannot allow Ebola define the narrative. We need to put a stop to this immediately, and young people need to take the lead.”

Other influencers include CEO of Paga, Tayo Oviosu, Deputy Director of the British Council, Ojoma Ochai; Deputy Director of the British Council Nigeria, Ojoma Ochai; and musician, 2face Idibia.

Others are Van Vicker, Joselyn Dumas, Lanre Da Silva Ajayi, Dayo Israel, Denrele, Dakore Akande, Juliet Ibrahim, Funke Akindele, Omoni Oboli, Ohimai Atafo, Joseph Benjamin, Ice Prince, MI Abaga, Omawumi, Waje, Lynxx, Yemi Adamolekun, Gbenga Sesan, Kunle Afolayan, Osas Ighodaro, Yegwa Ukpo and Kathleen Ndongmo