Okowa wins Delta governorship election

Ifeanyi Okowa

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared incumbent governor, Ifeanyi Okowa of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the 2019 governorship election in Delta State.

The state Returning Officer, Prof. Seth Accra-Jaja, Vice Chancellor of Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa; announced the results on Monday in Asaba.

“The election was keenly contested by different candidates and Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa of the PDP polled a total number of 925,274 votes to defeat his first runner up, Chief Great Ogboru of the All Progressives Congress who polled a total of 215,938 votes,” Jaja said.

According to Jaja, the total number of registered voters in the state was 2,831,205, while accredited voters were 1,188,784.

A total of 1,178,335 votes were cast, 24,147 were rejected while 1,154,188 were valid.

Mr Okowa won in 23 out of the 25 local government areas of the state.

Representatives of different political parties signed the result sheet provided by INEC except APC agents who refused to sign for alleged discrepancies in the election results.