Obiano imposes curfew over 19 Fulani herdsmen killed

Willie Obiano

Anambra State Governor Willie Obiano has imposed curfew on five communities in the state following the reported killing of 19 Fulani herders on Monday.

The communities are Igbariam, Aguleri, Umueri, Nteje, Awkuzu and Umunya in Anambra North Senatorial District.

Secretary to State Government Prof. Solo Chukwulobelu in a statement said the curfew would commence immediately from 7pm to 6am.

The statement advised the residents living in the affected communities to obey the curfew order.

It added, “Security personnel are on strict orders to enforce the curfew.”

Anambra police spokesperson Ikenga Tochukwu said in a statement that nine persons were killed in the incident.

He said the commissioner of police in the state Monday Kuryas had deployed policemen in the communities.

But chairman of Miyetti Allah in the south-east Gidado Sidikki told journalists that apart from 19 of his members that were killed, 23 cows belonging to his members were also killed.

“In Ebonyi State, our people have been chased out. Since we came to south-east, we’ve been living in peace with our host communities before the monsters came,” Sidikki said.