Obaseki takes early lead in 7 LGAs

Godwin Obaseki

Edo governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Godwin Obaseki has taken an early lead in the election held on Saturday as results trickle in.

Results released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) show the PDP candidate is leading his main challenger, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress, with over 20,000 votes.

As of 3:45am on Sunday, the commission had declared results in seven local government areas.

The LGAs are:

PDP: 7,870
APC: 5,199

Esan central
PDP: 10,964
APC: 6,719

Esan north-east
PDP: 13,579
APC: 6,559

Esan south-east
PDP: 10,565
APC: 9,237

Ikpoba Okha
PDP: 41,030
APC: 18,218

Owan east
PDP: 14,762
APC: 19,295

Etsako west
PDP 17,959
APC 26,140

PDP: 116,459
APC: 95,961

Margin: 20,498