NPFL: El-Kanemi stun Enyimba; Ikorodu United, MFM share spoils in Lagos derby

Ikorodu United

Nigeria Professional Football League defending champions, Enyimba FC, were condemned to their second defeat of the season by El-Kanemi Warriors on Sunday.

The Aba Elephants, who already suffered similar fate against Rivers FC, fell 2-0 to El-Kanemi at Karkanda Memorial Stadium, Katsina.

Chinedu Ohanachom scored the opener in the 13th minute from an Isaac Hele Hele’s assist.

Ibrahim Mustapha took the game away from Enyimba with the second goal in the 54th minute through a goalmouth scramble.

Enyimba dropped to 17th after picking one point from three games – while El-Kanemi who got their first win are 18th.

At the Onikan Stadium, Ikorodu United played out a goalless draw with Mountain of Fire Ministries FC in the Lagos derby.

Former champions, Kano Pillars, defeated 10-man Akwa United 3-2 in a five-goal thriller in Kano.

Michael Ibe Okoro put the visitors ahead in the 10th minute after a mix-up in Kano Pillars’ defence.

The lead lasted only four minutes with captain Rabiu Ali equalising for the Sai Masu Gida.

Ali put his side ahead for the first time in the 26th minute, converting home Prince Aggreh’s inch perfect cross.

Akwa United went in search of an equaliser and were rewarded a minute before the break when Ubong Ekpai found the back of the net for his second goal of the season.

Ali got his hat-trick two minutes after the break to hand his side an important win which takes them to 10 points and second on the log.

There was wild jubilation at the Dan Anyiam Stadium, Owerri as Heartland secured their first win of the season courtesy of a 1-0 victory against Lobi Stars.

Fortune Omoniwari grabbed the winner four minutes before the break, nodding home Onyebuchi Ajunwa’s cross.

Week five results

El-Kanemi Warriors 2 – 0 Enyimba

Heartland 1 – 0 Lobi Stars

Ikorodu United 0 – 0 MFM FC

Kano Pillars 3 – 2 Akwa United

Plateau United 1 – 1 Abia Warriors

Rivers United 1 – 0 Nasarawa United

Shooting Stars 2 – 1 Giwa

Sunshine Stars 1 – 1 FC Ifeanyi Ubah

Warri Wolves 1 – 0 Niger Tornadoes