Ndidi, Iheanacho battle for Leicester top award

Super Eagles duo, Wilfred Ndidi and Kelechi Iheanacho have been nominated for Leicester City’s Young Player of the Year award, according to the club’s official website.

The Foxes have opened voting to supporters for their end-of-season awards ceremony, which will be held at the King Power Stadium on May 1.

While the Player of the Season gong is open to all of City’s first-team squad, the Young Player of the Year category features just eight options to choose from: the Nigerian duo, as well as Demarai Gray, Ben Chilwell, Fousseni Diabate, Harvey Barnes, Hamza Choudhury and Josh Knight.

Last season winner, Ndidi, 21, starts as the favourite to retain his title.

Iheanacho has also been nominated for the Goal of the Season award, with his strike against Peterborough United in the FA Cup.

He is up against efforts from Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez (who each have four strikes in the 10-goal nominee list) and Shinji Okazaki.