Mustapha Isah emerges Nigerian Guild of Editors’ president

Mustapha Isah NGE president

Mustafa Isah of the Silverbird Group has been elected president of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE).

Mr Isah won the election with 176 votes to defeat Victoria Ibanga who polled 54 votes at the NGE 2021 biennial convention on Monday in Kano.

Isa, formerly deputy president, was confirmed president in 2019 to complete the tenure of Funke Egbemode who was appointed commissioner in Osun State. He is to lead the body of editors for the next two years.

Two vice presidents for the west and east were elected respectively. They are Sam Egbala and Bolaji Adebiyi, while Ali Ali was returned unopposed as deputy president.

Others who were returned unopposed at the event are Habibu Kila as vice president (north) and Iyobosa Uwugiaren as the general secretary.

Similarly, Ngwoke Ngwoke and Boma Nwuke emerged as standing committee members (east) unopposed, while Umoru Ibrahim who got 202 votes and Gbenga Adeshina with 113 votes emerged as standing committee members (north).

Steve Nwosu clinched the position of treasurer with Eze Anaba as the new social/publicity secretary, while Austeen Elewodalu was also returned unopposed as assistant general secretary.

Messrs Wole Sogunle, Unouha Ukeh and Gabriel Akinadewo emerged as standing committee members for the west.

The elected officials were inaugurated immediately after the declaration of the result.

In his acceptance speech, Isah promised to move the guild forward in line with his campaign promises.

He commended members of the guild for their support and cooperation, and pledged to justify the confidence reposed in him.

About 250 delegates took part in the election presided over by Bonnie Iwuoha.