Leicester, Tottenham stars dominate PFA Team of the Year

Harry Kane

Players from Barclays Premier League title-chasers, Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur dominated the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Team of the Year announced on Thursday.

The accolade is an annual award for the most outstanding players in the season under review as voted for by footballers.

Four players each from Spurs and the Foxes were voted in with Arsenal, Manchester United and West Ham United the only other clubs represented in the XI.

Not surprisingly, Tottenham striker Harry Kane, who leads the scoring charts with 24, was joined by Leicester’s Jamie Vardy, whose 22 goals have fuelled leader Leicester’s title quest.

Leicester midfielders N’Golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez and defender Wes Morgan were also included.

Toby Alderweireld and Danny Rose, part of Spurs’ defence which has conceded a league low 25 goals in 34 matches, made the list, as did 20-year-old midfielder Dele Alli.

Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, Gunners full back Hector Bellerin and West Ham’s French playmaker Dimitri Payet make up the team.

The PFA announces the Player of the Year on Sunday with Vardy, Kane, Mahrez, Payet and Mesut Özil in the running for the top individual honour.

Özil alongside Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero were shock exclusion from the team considering the pair has contributed a mammoth 52 goals in the league this season.

PFA Premier League team of the season: D De Gea (Man Utd); H Bellerin (Arsenal), W Morgan (Leicester), T Alderweireld (Tottenham), D Rose (Tottenham); N Kante (Leicester), D Alli (Tottenham), D Payet (West Ham), R Mahrez (Leicester ); H Kane (Tottenham), J Vardy (Leicester).