Keyamo misses out as 17 lawyers bag SAN title

Festus Keyamo

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC) on Friday in Abuja conferred Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) on 17 distinguished Nigerian legal practitioners with the name of popular Lagos lawyer, Festus Keyamo, conspicuously missing on the list.

KeyamoMr Sunday Olorundahunsi, the LPPC Secretary and Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, announced this while briefing newsmen at the Supreme Court.

Olorundahunsi said that the committee found the 17 awardees worthy for the title at the end of its general meeting held in Abuja on Friday.

According to him, out of an initial 109 legal practitioners that applied, 23 were shortlisted before the final confirmation of the new Senior Advocates.

He explained that two academicians made the final list and no female lawyer got the award this year, although three of them had applied.

Keyamo was one of 23 shortlisted candidates announced in a statement by the LPPC on Tuesday, June 17, 2014.

It is believed that he fell short of the requirements for the award of the title.

The chief registrar said that this year’s award process was very rigorous, adding that the provisions of the LPPC were strictly adhered to in the selection process.

Olorundahunsi also refuted insinuations that the LPPC had deviated from the practice of elevating the Director-General of the Nigerian Law School to the rank of a SAN.

He said, “I am not aware of that particular practice; I don’t think we have any tradition of appointing the Director-General of the Law School. The criteria for award of SAN are clearly spelt out.”

He said that the awardees would be inaugurated at the beginning of the new legal year in September.

The new Senior Advocates are: Dr Olu Onagoruwa (OFR), Prof. Joash Amupitan, Mr Olusola Idowu, Dr Ernest Ojukwu, Mr Ahamefula Ejelam, Chief George Onyemenam and Mr Tawo Eja Tawo.

Others are Mr Olatunde Adejuyigbe, Mr Sylvanus Ogwemoh, Dr Adewale Olawoyin, Dr Joshua Olatoke, Mr Teslim Busari, Mr Kevin Nwufo, Dr Amuda-Kannike Abiodun, Mr Oluwakemi Balogun, Mr Hakeem Afolabi and Mr Gerald Ezeuko.

There was no woman on the list.