Gbajabiamila, Bago battle for Reps speakership seat

Femi Gbajabiamila

No less than 358 members-elect of the House of Representatives are currently voting to elect either Femi Gbajabiamila or Mohammed Bago as the speaker of the ninth House.

Clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, arrived at the House moments after overseeing elections in the Senate.

Mr Sani-Omolori announced on Tuesday that 358 members-elect were present to choose a Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Mr Gbajabiamila is favourite to emerge as Speaker with the full backing of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Director General of Gbajabiamila Campaign Organisation, Abdulmumin Jibrin, nominated the Lagos legislator for the position.

His nomination was seconded by Linda Ikpeazu.

Abubakar Ahmad from Gombe State nominated Bago from Niger State.

His nomination was seconded by Mark Gbillah.