Fayemi’s former SSG Biodun Oyebanji wins Ekiti governorship election

Biodun Oyebanji Ekiti State SSG resigns

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Biodun Oyebanji winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti.

INEC returning officer Prof. Oyebode Adebowale said Oyebanji polled a total of 187, 057 to win the election.

“That I, Prof. Oyebode Adebowale, hereby satified that I am the Returning Officer of the Ekiti 2022 Governorship Election held on June 18.

“That Biodun Oyebanji, the candidate of APC, having certified the requirements of the law, is hereby declared winner and returned,” he declared.

Oyebanji is the immediate past secretary to Ekiti Government in the Kayode Fayemi administration.

Adebowale, who is also the vice-chancellor, University of Ibadan, said that Segun Oni, the Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate, scored 82, 211, to come second.

According to him, others were the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Bisi Kolawole, who polled 67,457; Accord (A) scored 166; African Action Congress (AAC) 409; All Progressives Grand Alliance,(APGA) 17 while Action Democratic Congress (ADC) polled 141 votes.

Also, the Action Democratic Party (ADP) scored 5,597; Allied Peoples Movement (APM) got 290; Labour Party (LP) polled 195 votes; New Nigeria Peoles Party (NNPP) scored 529 and National Rescue Movement (NRM) 347.

The rest were Young Progressives Party (YPP) which had 618; All Peoples Party (APP) polled 1,980 and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) polled 282; Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) polled 856.

According to the returning officer, the total numbers of registered voters were 989,224, accredited voters, 363,438, valid votes were, 351865 and voided votes were 8888.