Ex-NOVA Merchant Bank director Bolanle Onagoruwa gets new Transcorp role

Bolanle Onagoruwa

A former director-general, Bureau for Public Enterprises (BPE) Bolanle Onagoruwa has been appointed independent non-executive director of Transcorp Hotels Plc effective December 17.

Company secretary Kofo Olokun-Olawoyin announced the new appointment in a notice on the website of the Nigerian Exchange (NGX) Ltd on Monday.

According to the notice, the appointment is pursuant to the provisions of the Companies and Allied Matters Act and the Articles of Association of Transcorp Hotels.

“Onagoruwa has over 30 years of private and public sector professional experience covering commercial legal practice, with Bentley Edu and Co; Legal Counsel,” the notice read.

“Also with the Nigerian Industrial Development Bank, and Company Secretary/Legal Adviser Abuja Branch Head of Midas Merchant Bank, before she joined the Bureau of Public Enterprise (BPE).

“At post-retirement, she served as Acting CEO of Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company before joining ENL Consortium Limited.”

Olokun-Olawoyin said Onagoruwa contributed immensely to the public sector reform and privatisation in Nigeria during her 12-year service with the BPE.

“She also contributed in various directorate capacities (Director, Oil and Gas, Director, Industry and Manufacturing, Director, Electric Power, Director, National Parks and National Facilities.

“She served four years service as Secretary Social Development and Secretary Education in the Federal Capital Territory Administration before retiring as the Director-General of BPE in 2012.

“The power sector reform and privatisation programme recorded significant progress during her two-year tenure as Director-General of BPE,” he said.

Onagoruwa has a bachelor’s degree in law from the University of Lagos, a post-graduate diploma in politics and international relations from the University of Kent at Canterbury.

She is an alumnus of the Harvard Business School and was an independent director of NOVA Merchant Bank from 2017 to 2021.