CAF Awards 2023: See full list of winners as Asisat Oshoala makes history

Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala at CAF Awards 2023

Super Falcons star Asisat Oshoala has been crowned 2023 CAF Women’s ‘Player of the Year.’

The 29-year-old was announced the winner of the gong at the gala held in Marrakesh, Morocco, on Monday.

The triumph is Oshoala’s sixth time winning the award, making her the footballer with the most wins.

Oshoala was adjudged the best African female football player in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019, and 2022.

Nigeria’s Chiamaka Nnadozie also won the women’s Goalkeeper of the Year prize.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria were also named the women’s best national team on the continent.

The Nigerian duo of Michelle Alozie and Tosin Demehin made the CAF women’s best XI.

However, Deborah Abiodun was beaten to the women’s best young player prize by Nesryne El Chad of Morroco.


Player of the Year (Men)
Victor Osimhen

Player of the Year (Women)
Asisat Oshoala

Goalkeeper of the year (Women)
Chiamaka Nnadozie of Nigeria

Goalkeeper of the year (Men)
Yassine Bounou of Morocco

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)
Fatima Tagnaout of Morocco

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
Percy Tau of Al Ahly/South Africa

Young Player of the Year (Women)
Nesryne El Chad of Morocco

Young Player of the Year (Men)
Lamine Camara of Senegal

Coach of the Year (Women)
Desiree Ellis of South Africa

Coach of the Year (Men)
Walid Regragui of Morocco

Club of the Year (Women)
Mamelodi Sundowns

Club of the Year (Men)
Al Ahly FC

National Team of the Year (Women)
Super Falcons of Nigeria

National Team of the Year (Men)

Goal of the Year
Mahmoud Kahraba of Al Ahly FC/Egypt