Ali-Balogun, Jide Kosoko, Monalisa Chinda, others elected to AVRS board

mahmood ali-balogun

Filmmaker Mahmood Ali-Balogun and actors Jide Kosoko, Ejike Asiegbu, Monalisa Chinda and others have been elected to the management board of the Audio Visual Rights Society of Nigeria (AVRS).

The elections were held on Thursday during the organisation’s 5th annual general meeting (AGM) at the Lagos Airport Hotel.

A major highlight of the AGM was the dissolution and reconstitution of the AVRS management board.

Others elected into the board are Yemi Solade, Sani Muazu, Nobert Ajaegbu, Ahmad Saraki, Olurotimi Aina-Kusoro, Tunji Ojetola, Iyen Obaseki-Omoruyi and Peddie Okao.

The elections were conducted by Lagos-based law firm Creative Legal and supervised by its principal partner Justin Ige.

All resolutions passed at the AGM were approved and ratified by the general assembly including the reduction of members of the board from 15 to 12, giving equal representation to the four categories of membership and re-appointment of Olukayode Timehin & Co. as auditors.

An elated Mr. Ali-Balogun thanked the AVRS members for the peaceful conduct of the AGM and elections. He called on members not to relent on their support for the organisation, as according to him their continued support is the reason the organisation has come far in seven years.

The meeting was adjourned with the swearing-in of the newly elected board.

A chairman will be elected at the first meeting of the new board, but there are strong indications Ali-Balogun will be re-elected to lead the organisation for a second term.

The director of movies like A Place Called Home and Tango With Me was first elected AVRS chairman in January 2019, replacing Bond Emeruwa who had led the board since 2016.