Aiteo Cup: More shock as IfeanyiUbah, Niger Tornadoes crash

Nigerian supporters Super Eagles fans

There were further surprises in the Aiteo Cup round of 32 with FC IfeanyiUbah and Niger Tornadoes the latest big guns to exit the competition.

Shooting Stars, Bendel Insurance and Heartland were the victims of the previous round.

Emmanuel Uangbadje’s 24th-minute strike was the match-winner as giant-killers J. Atete knocked out 2016 champions FC Ifeanyi Ubah 1-0 at the Sharks Stadium in Port Harcourt.

2017 runners-up Niger Tornadoes were denied a spot in the round of 16 following a shock 1-0 defeat against Kogi United in the North-Central derby.

Michael Ibe struck four times as defending champions Akwa United for a second successive match were involved in a seven-goal thriller as they beat Aklosendi FC 5-2.

The minows stunned the champions, taking the lead through Aruna Sule’s eighth-minute volley. Emmanuel Ariwachukwu levelled for the Promise Keepers, after which Ibeh netted four times including a free-kick and penalty.

Veteran Rabiu Ali’s 15 minutes (fifth and 20th minutes) brace was enough to seal Kano Pillars’ passage to the next round, as they earned a 2-0 victory against Sokoto United in the North-West derby.

Supreme Court beat Go Round FC on penalties after the game ended 1-1 to extend their remarkable cup run. It was a second successive penalty shootout victory after knocking out four-time champions Shooting Stars in the round of 64.

Ugochukwu Ugwuoke’s brace and a Chidera Eze strike sealed a comfortable 3-0 victory for Enugu Rangers against Kebbi United.

Abia Warriors sealed progression to the next stage following a 3-1 win against Crown FC. Obi Samson, Kola Raimi and Ndifreke Effiong were the scorers for the top-flight side, while Adewale Adigun netted Crown’s consolation goal.

Giant-killers Standard FC’s run in this year’s edition came to an end with a 3-0 loss against Nasarawa United, bringing an end to their quest to be the breakout team of the competition. Standard had knocked out Lobi Stars on penalties in the previous round.

Plateau United beat Yobe Desert Stars 1-0, while Rivers United secured a 3-0 walk-over victory against Remo Stars Feeders, who failed to show up in Minna.

Following the conclusion of the outstanding round of 32 matches, the round of 16 fixtures will be held in a group-stage format with all 16 teams paired into four groups.