Agbaje, Ribadu, Okowa win PDP Lagos, Adamawa, Delta governorship primaries


Pharmacist, Joseph Olujimi Agbaje, was on Monday declared winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship primary in Lagos.

He polled 434 votes to go ahead of immediate past Minister of State for Defence, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, who polled 346 in an exercise marred by violence and protest among party supporters.

Tokunbo Kamson polled 46 votes while Deji Doherty and Babatunde Gbadamosi polled 21 votes respectively.

Although 803 delegates were accredited for the ballot, 856 votes were counted after the exercise which dragged late into the night in the Oregun area of the state.

Agbaje’s supporters went into celebration when Chairman, Lagos PDP governorship electoral committee, Senator Saidu, Umar Kumo announced “I hereby declare Mr Jimi Agbaje as the candidate of the PDP for the 2015 governorship elections.”

Former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, emerged winner in Adamawa State.

The election, held in Abuja due to insurgency in the state, was supervised by the National Working Committee of the PDP.

Ribadu scored 688 votes, followed by Senator Marcus Gundiri with 33 votes. Dr. Ahmed Modibbo scored 30 votes and the incumbent, Governor Bala Ngilari polled 26 votes.

Alhaji Awwal Tukur, son of the immediate past National Chairman of the PDP, got 24 votes, while Major General Aliyu Kama scored three votes.

Two votes were invalidated.

Ribadu said he was humbled and challenged by the choice of the people of the state.

He said: “My happiness knows no bound as I take your challenge to lead our great party, the PDP, to the gubernatorial election come February 2015.

“With utmost sense of responsibility and honour, I pledge not to falter as we commence this journey for a new Adamawa State.”

Senator Ifeanyi Okowa was the winner in Delta State.

Okowa polled 406 votes, while his closest challenger David Edevbie, who was the aspirant endorsed before the election, scored 299 votes.

The results from the Event Centre venue of the primaries showed that Charles Emetule scored four votes; Gabriel Oyibode, three; Ovie Omo-Agege, 10; Mike Uwaka, one; and Johnson Opone, three.

Imoyi Omone had no vote; Clement Ofuani, seven; Godswill Obielum, 22; Kenneth Gbagi, two; Godsday Orubebe, 49; Peter Okocha, six; Sylvester Monye, 10; and Ndudi Elumelu, 50.

Others in the race were Victor Ochei, 185; Ngozi Olejeme, not called at all; Sam Obi, 10; Festus Okubor, five, and Tony Obuh, five.

One vote was voided.

The Returning Officer for the primaries was Hon. S. Tarimi.