AFRIMA announces public voting for 2021 edition


The international committee of the All African Music Awards (AFRIMA) has announced the commencement of public voting for the 2021 edition set to hold in Lagos.

In a press release sent to on Monday, the committee noted that winners will be determined by 100 percent public votes in some categories while a combination of 50 percent public votes and 50 percent Academy of Voters’ votes will determine winners in other categories.

AFRIMA International Academy of Voters comprises professionals in the music industry in Africa – musicologists, producers, veteran artistes, artiste managers, music, entertainment journalists and disc jockeys.

According to the statement, “The International Committee of AFRIMA has 100% votes to select the winner in the ‘Legend Award’ category. Past winners in this category are Afrobeat legend, the Late Fela Anikulapo Kuti (Nigeria); South African male choral group, Ladysmith Black Mambazo; Soul Makossa and saxophonist, Manu Dibango (Cameroon); the Late Oliver Mtukudzi (Zimbabwe); Salif Keita (Mali); Yvonne Chaka Chaka (South Africa); King Sunny Ade (Nigeria); and Papa Wemba (Congo)”.

AFRIMA also stated that over 8,800 entries were received and screened down to 400 songs by the Jury into continental and regional categories cutting across African talents and creatives living on the continent and in the diaspora.

In partnership with the African Union Commission (AUC), AFRIMA 2021 will be broadcast live on 84 television stations in 109 countries from November 19 to November 21.