151 aspirants pick PDP nomination forms in Plateau


PDPA total of 151 aspirants have picked nomination forms to contest in the 2015 general elections under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Plateau, the party’s state Organising Secretary, Mr Michael Dachom, has said.

Dachom told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Jos on Monday that 11 of the aspirants, including the current Deputy Gov., Ignatius Longjan, picked forms for governorship, while 40 others were for national assembly and 100 for state assembly seats.

He said Senators Gyang Pwajok and Victor Lar, as well as former governor Fidelis Tapgun, former PDP state chairman, Haruna Dabin and former speaker, John Clark have also picked the governorship nomination forms.

Dachom said that the rest of the aspirants for governorship seat were a former Vice Chancellor, University of Jos, Prof Sonni Tyoden, as well as Messrs Jimmy Cheto, Labar Wuyep, Godfrey Miri and Jeff Nabasu.

According to him, more aspirants may still emerge as the sale of the nomination forms has been extended to Thursday, Nov. 6, 2014.

The organising secretary said so far, 10 persons had picked nomination forms for the Senate, including Gov. Jonah Jang, former Deputy Gov. Pauline Tallen, and a member of the House of Representatives, Emmanuel Goar.

Also in the senate race is current Senator, Joshua Dariye, his predecessor, Sen. Sati Gogwim and Mr Abbas Dayilim, a former General Manager of Zenith Bank.

Dachom said 30 aspirants had picked forms for the eight seats reserved for the state in the House of Representatives and 100 aspirants for the 24-member state House of Assembly.

The organising secretary promised a level playing ground for all aspirants, and called for more commitment to ensure victory for the party in the 2015 general elections.